The Positives (and Negatives) of the Prepatch So Far

Posted on

Legion’s prepatch has been released for over a week now, enough time for 2 raid test days in the guild, and enough time to begin to form opinions about how I’m going to approach the newest expansion come the end of August. Plenty of positives to draw on thus far, but also a couple of negatives, so let’s get stuck in!

Positive: Warlocks!

Demonology is probably the most fun spec I’ve played in years. It feels great to summon a small army of demons to do my bidding, and the playstyle of the spec itself is very involved. It’s not an easy spec per se, given there’s a lot to track and small mistakes can cost you, but when it all comes together, it’s something very special. It’s kind of lacking in the AoE department mind, but I’m unconcerned about that at the moment.

Demo isn’t the only fun spec, however. Affliction, which I have RAILED on for years as being dull and uninspiring is kinda sorta actually pretty fun now. I don’t know what did it, perhaps the fact that it feels like the DoTs actually hit hard now, or the extra DoT to manage if you take the Siphon Life talent, or that Soul Effigy turns even a boring single target yawnfest into a 2-target multiDoT extravaganza. Affliction is very speedily becoming my go-to offspec of choice. Perhaps… perhaps it’ll displace Demo? Who knows? The fact it has a LOT of survivability too (Siphon Life as a DoT, and Drain Life as filler grant a good amount of healing to you) means it’s the spec du jour for old raid soloing.

However, not all is sunshine and sparkles in Warlock land…

Negative: Warlocks?!

My main spec for the last 4 years, Destruction, just doesn’t FEEL right any more. Perhaps it’s the loss of Burning Embers as the resource in favour of Soul Shards, perhaps it’s the feeling that something’s just… missing? I can’t put my finger on it but there’s something about Destro in Legion that doesn’t gel well with me. It’s sad because as mentioned, for the last 4 years Destro has been my THING, but while Demo is the new hotness and Affliction has gained something, it seems to have been at the cost of Destro’s interest. Perhaps it’s just stagnant? The fact that it hasn’t really gained anything of note could  be the problem I am having. Hopefully the artifact weapon will solve that? I sure hope so.

Destro? No thanks!
Destro? No thanks!

Positive: The Wardrobe!

My transmog items are FINALLY account-wide! I can doll up my low-level characters as I level, I can collect items and looks and clear out my fucking bags and void storage! There’s no excuse for ugly characters now! The UI is really good too, even if sometimes items take a while to load properly. Perhaps that’s just my laptop acting stupid though.

Negative: The wardrobe?!

Gotta go to Firelands.

Gotta get the clothes.

Gotta go to Dragon Soul.

Gotta get the clothes.

Gotta go to Mount Hyjal.

A million waves of adds.

Oh god help me.

Gotta get the clothes gotta be fabulous gotta collect them all WHY WILL THAT HELM NOT DROP GOD FUCKING DAMN YOU

Aysa's upset that Kargath didn't drop The Bladefist AGAIN
Aysa’s upset that Kargath didn’t drop The Bladefist AGAIN

Positive: Pirates and Martial Artists

Windwalker, much like Affliction, seems to not have gained much at all on the face of things, but when you really look at it, it strikes you as being completely different. Combo Strikes, the new Mastery, rewards you for using different abilities in succession, granting 10% increased damage to abilities that aren’t a repeat of the ability that preceded it. It changes the spec from “spam BOK when things are on cooldown” to making you think about what you are actually doing, and rewards increasing the complexity of the spec through active talents. More buttons to press means you’re less likely to repeat an ability, meaning you can keep Combo Strikes going!

Similarly, Outlaw Rogue is the shiny new hotness. It’s certainly very RNG with Roll the Bones, but you know what? I kinda like that. Predictability, while safe, is rather dull, and RtB is certainly unpredictable. I also love the swooshing noises when you attack, and Grappling Hook is an awesome ability that I will never not use.

Negative: Animal Lovers

The above specs have seen either a small but significant change, or an entire revamp. A class that has seen both are Hunters, in that Beast Mastery and Marskman have seen small changes, while Survival is now completely different, going from ranged to melee. I’ve not dicked around with Survival yet (need to get an heirloom polearm for the baby Gnome Hunter), but if the other two specs, I may end up underwhelmed. I’m utterly uninspired by both BM and MM, which is a shame because I DEFINITELY want a Hunter in Legion for the added extra stuff (mechanical pets, Thok, Iron Juggernaut, aaaaaaaah) and if I dislike Survival too? Poor TrebuWHAT may end up stuck in New Tinkertown forever and ever.

Trebu... what?
Trebu… what?

So that concludes my list so far. Other changes that I enjoy include the Silence penalty (though I’ve not personally seen it in action, I appreciate that it’s there) and the addition of new toys to the toybox (RAINBOW GENERATOR!) What changes are right up YOUR alley? Let me know!

3 thoughts on “The Positives (and Negatives) of the Prepatch So Far

    sivation said:
    July 29, 2016 at 12:40 pm

    Our guild warlock rather likes affliction, but said that destro felt really strange now as chaos bolt hits for almost nothing compared to before – that he felt like a fire mage more than anything.

      ikralla responded:
      July 29, 2016 at 2:27 pm

      Oh god yeah, the damage of CB seems just really bad, especially compared to the nukes from other specs!

    elkagorasa said:
    July 29, 2016 at 4:04 pm

    Personally, I had fun with demo at the training dummy because I could see the 10-20 d demons around my target, but in lfr, it was disappointing sure to all the melee in my way. Became really hard to know the best time to empower my demons. “I think this is good…”

    I haven’t tried the other two specs yet. Wish I did. Destruction was my go-to for the last two expansions. Hoping that the return to soul shards isn’t to awkward. Otherwise, it may be affliction and demo.

Leave a Reply

