Transmog Restrictions in Legion

Posted on

This tweet popped up in my feed early this morning. I was in bed at the time, it was around 3am, and it was one of Twitter’s “Tweets You Missed” things. Being a bit bleary-eyed and lacking my caffeine, I didn’t really have much to say about it, but now I’m awake, I’m home from work, and here’s a blog post about it.

Alternative Chat has posted something already about this, and is the only post on the subject I’ve seen thus far. Well, here’s my hot take.

I’m fully supportive of this restriction. If it had been how most people assumed (if you can wear it, you unlock it) then plate-wearers would be the ultimate transmog farmers. They can wear cloth, leather, mail AND plate, after all. Warriors specifically have another distinct advantage in that they can also equip damn near ANY weapon type (the only ones they can’t are wands and off-hand items, I believe), which would have made them the perfect transmog farmers. Any boss drop they get they’d have unlocked, pretty much.

lillofab

With this clarification, it means you can only unlock it if it’s a suitable item for your class. Cursed Vision of Sargeras (a leather item) drops on your Shaman? It won’t unlock for your Rogue/Monk/Druid to use, because Shaman use mail, and Rogues/Monks/Druids use leather. You’d need to actually take your leather-wearers there to get it themselves. It means you have to use a class to get stuff for them!

Interestingly, your starting gear has been changed now too. Previously, Shaman, Hunters, Paladins and Warriors equipped the armour type below their endgame armours (i.e. leather instead of mail, mail instead of plate), then “learned”  how to equip heavier stuff at level 40. In Legion, you now start with your endgame armor type. Level 1 Paladins now have plate items, level 1 Hunters will have mail. They’d need to rejig lower-level quest rewards/dungeon drops though, primarily for the Plate users who wouldn’t GET any plate drops below level 40, because not everybody has/uses heirlooms.

I’d like to see that go 1 step further and restrict a class to that specific armor type. After all, you don’t see level 100 Paladins not using plate, unless they’re doing something really wrong (or RPing I suppose), so why not make it so they can ONLY wear plate?

I’m fully supportive of the notion that if you want cloth transmog, then you go and get it with a cloth-wearer. Want some cool leathers? Then farm it on a class that can use it, not on your Warrior that can equip bloody everything. I’m firmly of the belief that if you want something on a character, you should actually PLAY that character to get it, not play everything ELSE instead.

lilloss

But what do I know, eh? There’s a fair amount of people annoyed at this restriction, and that’s fine. I appear to be in the overwhelming minority here for once, looking at the replies to the above tweet.

One last thing I will say is that there should be more items classed as “cosmetic,” much like the Fel-Proof Goggles from Tanaan Jungle. There’s a LOT of holiday items that are classed as cloth, they should be reclassified as cosmetic so every class can use them.

So, fight me IRL I guess?
So, fight me IRL I guess?
3 thoughts on “Transmog Restrictions in Legion

    Dobablo said:
    December 11, 2015 at 3:51 pm

    I am fine with the current restrictions useable and of main armor type, but I’d like there to be a single-use cash-shop item that turns a BoP item into BoA and lets my Shaman mail the Cursed Vision of Sargeras to my Rogue/Monk/Druid.
    /hides behind Varian.

    Neri said:
    December 13, 2015 at 5:37 am

    Use a leather wearer to unlock leather… makes total sense to me! Keeps it true to the way transmog is currently working, just with a bit more convenience for those with multiple clothies, etc.

    draftmare said:
    February 3, 2017 at 1:44 pm

    I love that pink set on your Pandaren, where did it come from?

Leave a Reply

