Holi-Holiday

Posted on

So for the last 8 days, I’ve been sunning it down in the south of France. La Colle sur Loup to be precise, and it’s LOVELY. The first day we were there, there was a thunderstorm, but that lasted 15 minutes, and it was so warm that an hour later, all the water on the ground had dried out.

Why La Colle? The boyfriend does aikido, and every year his club go to La Colle for an aikido summer school, where they train from 6am until about noon (with a break of course), and other optional classes from new-and-upcoming teachers in the afternoon.

I didn’t do this. I went along because HOLIDAY. I also helped out around the chalets, made coffee, did breakfast and whatnot. I’m nice like that.

We had intended to make it a more exploratory holiday. Visit Grasse, Monaco, Cannes, St Paul de Vence, places like that, but he was so knackered from aikido and I was so relaxed in the sun that we ended up staying at the chalet most days! Sitting by the pool, reading my books (Faust Among Equals and Flying Dutch by Tom Holt, one of my favourite authors), trying to get a tan and failing miserably (I didn’t burn either, I’m just… the same colour as when I left).

So I had a wonderful time, and I got back to Cardiff yesterday, and initially it was sunny, which goes against everything we had heard from our friends, but it turns out this was a small respite from the actual weather. Within an hour or so, the thunderclouds rolled in, and it’s been raining ever since!

WELCOME HOME.

lacolle

So that’s the view from the end of La Colle’s main high street-type area, with all the restaurants. On our last day, we went to a place called Le Tigre, which is La Colle’s main pizza joint. Oh my god it was SO GOOD. I had a pizza called “la cannibale”, which featured minced meat, melty cheese and olives which I gave to my boyfriend because OLIVES ARE BAD.

Lemon meringue pie for dessert too. I’m a sucker for a lemon meringue.

kote

This is what my boyfriend and his crew were doing each day. This is apparently a pin from kote gaishi, and I have no idea what it means but it looks painful.

My boyfriend was taking the picture. The one on the ground is one of his teachers.

les-pinedes-camping

This, however, is where I spend most of MY time, beside the pool at our camp site, Les Pinèdes. It’s as pretty as it looks in the picture.

And that’s where I’ve been the past week. I’ll get back to posting in this blog more regularly again, promise.

Leave a Reply

