Bloggy Christmas #1: Community

Posted on Updated on

For the month of December, Syl of MMO-Gypsy wanted to create a blogging advent calendar of sorts, where a number of bloggers take a day each and write about how gaming has impacted their life, in terms of meeting people and being part of a community.

bloggyxmas

I am lucky number one. I (and Telwyn at GamingSF) get to go first, and I’m going to talk to you about myself, because that’s my favourite topic!

Without World of Warcraft, without this little blog of mine, without that behemoth that is Twitter, I don’t think I’d have met (in a manner of speaking) so many awesome people.

Have a panda!
Have a panda!

I’m not the most social of people, you see. Sure, I can talk to people in a face-to-face setting if I’ve known them for a while, but put me in a group, or in front of someone I don’t even know, and watch those awkward silences literally form like Immerseus after his split phase. I may come across as rather confident, but trust me, I’m not!

Having gaming in common with nearly all of my Twitter followers/the people I follow gives me a common ground to be able to strike up a conversation with. I know that if I start bitching about something Warcraft-related, there’s people out there who actually know what I am talking about, whereas if I were to do it on Facebook, I know I’d be met with tumbleweed.

"Like, what are you even talking about?"
“Like, what are you even talking about?”

That’s what community is to me. We may not play the same class in WoW, or even the same games, but we still understand each-other, we know how gaming can be a big part of our lives, and we don’t judge each-other for it.

Well, we try not to, at least!

Without Warcraft, I wouldn’t have met the amazing people of Nameless. The people that have come and gone, and the people that remain, you are all very dear to me, and I am truly honoured to know you.

Without this blog, I would never have started actively using Twitter, and I wouldn’t have got to know the people on there. I’m still a bit awkward about whether or not to comment on things people say, but then I know I’m getting slightly better at that. Putting myself out there a bit more.

For a less general story, let me tell you about my guild in World of Warcraft. We’re called Nameless, as I mentioned earlier, and we’re based on a previously low-populated server called Nagrand. We’ve since been connected to the Runetotem and Kilrogg servers which means we have a larger group of people to play with I guess.

We’re a really social guild with no real designs on raiding. If we have enough people online up for it, then sure we may give it a go, but generally we’re pretty casual. If we raid, it tends to be separately as part of pugs, or a couple of us together in a larger group.

A while back, patch 5.4 brought Flexible raiding, and we decided “why not give it a go?”

We joined forces with another guild called Thunderbirds, and made a lot of progress! We got to 8/14 in Flex mode (SPOILS OF PANDARIA! Boo!) and decided one week to make progress in Normal mode. We killed the first 3 bosses together and we have never been more proud!

Sadly, our raid team disbanded shortly after that. Some people moved to other more progressed guilds after being bitten by the “proper raiding” bug, some decided to help the raid team of a friend, and the rest of us stayed. The fact is though, as a small community of 11 people across 2 guilds, we banded together and accomplished things we never thought we would do.

If just 11 of us can do that, imagine what the gaming community as a whole could do if for once we all stopped fighting about stuff for a change?

In other news, here's a panda with lethal explosives.
In other news, here’s a panda with lethal explosives.

It’s Christmas soon. Season of goodwill and cheer and all that jazz. The time to give as well as receive (fnar). Recently, certain corners of our lil’ community of gamers have been doing some really awful stuff. Harassing, threatening, life-ruining, that sorta thing. Of course there are trolls on both sides of the conflict, because that’s just apparently the way the internet works, but really, shit like this needs to stop. It’s this sort of thing that can break a community, and in the grand scheme of things, we’ve only just gotten off the ground. We’ve only just found each-other, and already we’re at each-other’s throats.

Can’t we all get along for once (he says naively)? Make this happy time of year actually, you know, HAPPY?

Anyway, I hope you all have a wonderful Christmas! My Destruction 101 guide is STILL a work-in-progress. I keep getting distracted by garrisons and missions and alts and transmog and EVERYTHING.

Speaking of transmog, here’s Raenah’s current look:

pirates
Sexy glowing ball pirate?

 

 

Until next time, my dears!

6 thoughts on “Bloggy Christmas #1: Community

    Jaedia said:
    December 1, 2014 at 6:57 pm

    I’m glad you talk to us, I really enjoy your tweets. We should play together more – we both enjoy what’s important in the game… LOOKING GREAT. *fist bump*

    Syl (@Gypsy_Syl) said:
    December 1, 2014 at 10:05 pm

    WoW sure has brought a lot of people together. And I too only started tweeting because of the blogging community, which is also how I got talking to you! 🙂

    Scree (@TheScree) said:
    December 1, 2014 at 10:54 pm

    I’m the same… only started on Twitter because of the gaming blog community.

    The Cynic Dialogues A Bloggy Xmas Begins! said:
    December 2, 2014 at 3:31 pm

    […] Ikralla @ Bloggy Christmas #1: Community […]

    Ysharros said:
    December 3, 2014 at 4:12 pm

    Hehe, I transmog my ‘lock’s weapon to that scythe EVERY. DAMN. TIME. It’s just got to be done.

    Roundup: The Bloggy Christmas Series 1-5 | Thinking Play said:
    December 11, 2014 at 11:24 pm

    […] 1st… Ikralla at Grimoires of Supremacy: Community “I’m not the most social of people… Without World of Warcraft, without this little […]

Leave a Reply

