WoW Gets in the Way (Why I Don’t Finish Games)

Posted on Updated on

The past week, I feel as if I have been playing WoW much less than usual. Could the lack of new content be finally getting to me? Could it be because of the recent OUTRAGE!!! over Rob Pardo’s comments about women in games? Am I simply growing out of the game?

Well, the answer to these is no. I’ve been playing less WoW because I’ve been playing other games for once! I recently purchased a PS Vita, and so I’ve been playing the HD version Final Fantasy X (one of my favourite games ever), and Persona 4 Golden (which is an absolutely AMAZING game, but then I’ve always been a fan of Atlus’s MegaTen games, and I can’t wait for the SMT/Fire Emblem crossover, or Persona 5).

It’s not just new games that I’ve been playing either. Possibly spurred on from my new favourite alt being my rogue, I’ve been playing Skyrim as a sneaky Dark Elf lady called Frisky McBiscuit. She steals anything that’s not nailed down, and some things that are. She’s all about the bows and the daggers and the pickpocketing. Even though her pickpocket skill is a measly 20. Still, every great thief comes from humble beginnings.

Did I mention she's a bloody good shot? 'cause she is.
Did I mention she’s a bloody good shot? ’cause she is.

In terms of World of Warcraft itself, I have been playing as the aforementioned rogue a lot, alongside my usual warlocky shenanigans. Still no Garrosh normal kill, but each pug I’ve been in seems to do better than the last. Each pug seems to always fall at the same part though; Empowered Whirling Corruption. The adds! Overwhelm!

Recently, my characters have had no luck from Ordos or the Celestials, and Vanlew & Lunchi are farming Illidan every week for the Cursed Vision of Sargeras item. Blindfold woo.

"Being able to see is SO overrated"
“Being able to see is SO overrated”

 

One of the topics for the NBI’s Talkback event was “why don’t we finish our games any more?” While I daren’t speak for anyone else, for me it’s because of Warcraft. I played Borderlands briefly a while back. It was fun, but I didn’t enjoy it as much as I enjoy WoW, so it fell by the wayside and I traded it in. Ditto for Borderlands 2, Dark Souls, Far Cry 3, Fallout 3, Fallout New Vegas, Final Fantasy 13, and many, many more that I’m not remembering right now.

World of Warcraft has inadvertently become the bar by which I measure my games. Is it as fun as WoW? Well then I’ll keep playing it. If not, then I abandon it for games I DO find more fun. Games like World of Warcraft (obviously), Pokemon, Persona, Final Fantasy X, Skyrim, Civilization V, Disgaea. What is it about these games that keeps me going back? I don’t know; each one has different strengths, different weaknesses. I play Warcraft primarily for the social aspect of it. Disgaea and Pokemon, it’s for the grindiness, and knowledge that at the end of the grinding, I’ll have a team of unstoppable powerhouses. Persona is the new hotness in my life at the moment, and it’s insanely good. Skyrim is one of those games you can play pretty much ANY way you want, and it’s always fun to try something new.

So yes. Why don’t I finish games?

Because they’re not as good as World of Warcraft to me.

"I'm ready for my close-up!"
“I’m ready for my close-up!”
4 thoughts on “WoW Gets in the Way (Why I Don’t Finish Games)

    Miss Mojo said:
    May 29, 2014 at 10:41 am

    Final fantasy x. Such a good game. I get really drawn into that game. Its allmost like i wish i had not played it so i could experience it for the first time again.

      ikralla responded:
      May 29, 2014 at 10:59 am

      I think I spent more time playing just Blitzball than I did playing WHOLE GAMES! FFX is AMAZING.

    Miss Mojo said:
    May 29, 2014 at 11:24 am

    Haha yah, I used a lot of time on that as well, can still hear that one tune/theme in my head.

    elkagorasa said:
    February 29, 2016 at 5:53 pm

    Warcraft is the one game that I can play with others, but don’t need to schedule it with friends. I have several friends and co-workers that have tried to get together at night and play Dying Light for several hours. Sadly my nights are ruled by the kids. I make plans to play and one kid has a big project or test the next day and needs my attention to help study for it (aka Math test). Or our toddler insists on having daddy rock her to sleep and not my wife. It’s WAY TOO MUCH anxiety trying to get everything kid done AND plan to meet with friends at 9PM and several are ‘tired’ to play after 10/11…

    Warcraft, I can join a pug, or find a group to do content rather easily, even if I logon at 10PM, midnight or 1AM. (I see I am necroing an old post, save post).

Leave a Reply

