What Have I Learnt Thus Far? #nbi

Posted on Updated on

You know, being part of the NBI has made me think, “what have I learnt this month?”

Not because I felt I wasn’t doing anything different, but because sometimes, I like to quantify things like knowledge, and how I feel (“On a scale of 1 to 10, my happiness today is 7; a fly is hovering around my yogurt but I managed to shoo it away!”) etc. Maybe some of the things I have learnt will help someone else out; maybe it’s just boring, who knows?

  • Get yourself out there! Are you on Twitter? Use it! WordPress has that awesome little function where you post a blog, and then seconds later it automatically posts a link to it on Twitter. Talk to your fellow bloggers, even if it’s not necessarily blogging related! Don’t be afraid to promote your work! If you posted a blog in the morning, retweet that you posted something in the evening! You might hit a new audience that way!
  • Don’t fret over numbers! Don’t be upset your blog isn’t getting a thousand hits a day. Sure, look at your stats, but don’t let them rule you.
  • Edit, edit, edit! Read what you just wrote. Read it again. Read it a third time if you have to! Oh look, there’s a typo you may not have noticed if you hadn’t re-read your work! If you notice a typo after you post? Well, most blogs have a handy edit function, so use it.
  • Not everything has to be art! You don’t have to make each thing you write the shinest thing since stainless steel. If you want to make a short fluff piece about the totally fashionable plate bikini your paladin is wearing then by gum do it! You see, each thing you write will improve your writing; you can’t improve if you don’t write.
  • Let you shine through! Don’t be afraid to let your personality show in your posts. I like Pandaren, so I post a lot of pictures of Pandaren. In the end, what will differentiate your blog from another blog on the same subject is the person in the driving seat.
  • I don’t do poetry!
    I am not a bard.
    I am a mighty warlock.
    Burn in my green flames!
  • Do unto others! A continuation of the first point, I guess. You want people to look at your stuff? Well, other people want YOU to look at THEIRS too. Read blogs. Comment on them. Eventually more people will do the same for you, ’cause seriously most people would want to check out this weirdo with a Voidlord as their display picture, ’cause what if they’re a stalker? Nah but really, you post to people, generally people will check you and your stuff out too.
  • Write what you are passionate about! I love World of Warcraft. I love warlocks. Yes, there may come a time when WoW dies, but until then I’m gonna write about what I like. I write about warlocks (and sometimes WoW in general), and if I have to move on to something else, then maybe I will, but until then I am going to have fun with what I do, and who knows? Maybe your windows will open a bit further? I didn’t blog about anything  BUT warlock/transmog stuff, and now here I am sharing opinions and junk. Go me.
  • Have a goal! What’s my goal? To have resources available for current and potential warlocks to look at (guides and the like!). To get better at this whole writing lark (that one’s more of a “because I want to” thing rather than an aim with a specific goal in mind). What’s yours?

Well, there we go. Any questions?

As a reward for sitting through this, here’s a picture of Aysa rescuing Ji in Orgrimmar. Aww!

WoWScrnShot_051514_150709

One thought on “What Have I Learnt Thus Far? #nbi

    scarybooster said:
    May 21, 2014 at 10:12 pm

    Very good list. I could learn a thing or 2 from this. Happy NBI writing!

Leave a Reply

